Edit invoices

In the Invoice # screen, you can change information such as customers, payments, products, or services for specific invoices.

Notes

  • You can change an invoice only if the sale does not have any applied payments. If the invoice you want to change has applied payments, you must first delete the original invoice, and then create a new invoice for the sale. You can then apply the original payment to the new invoice.
  • If you have set up online payments, OnBalance will generate an invoice with a link for your customer to securely and easily pay the balance due online.
  • If your customer has paid the invoice using an online payment, OnBalance will assign a customer payment status of pending to the invoice. While the status of the payment is pending, you cannot edit or delete the invoice. Once the automatic payment is made in OnBalance, the status changes to paid.
  • You should not enter payments manually if your customer has paid via online payment.
  1. Do one of the following.

    • In the Sales screen, click the row for the invoice you want to change.

      Note: You can filter invoices by date and status in the Sales screen.

    • In the customer activity screen, click the row for the invoice you want to change.
  2. Enter the information.
  3. Optional: Make this a recurring sale.
  4. If you received an amount toward the sale, click Payments, and enter information to apply the payment.

    If you received payment in full, mark the Make Paid In Full checkbox to have the application complete the Date Paid and Payment fields in the Payments section.

    Notes

    • If you mark the Make Paid In Full checkbox, the following occurs.
      • The amount entered in the Payment field will be the amount needed to close the invoice open balance. You cannot change this amount unless you clear the Make Paid In Full checkbox.
      • The application creates a payment that closes any open balance on the invoice.
    • When an invoice is fully paid, the application automatically marks the Make Paid In Full checkbox when you save the invoice, even if you did not mark this checkbox. This allows you to easily see that the invoice is fully paid and closed when you view the invoice.
    • If you mark the Make Paid In Full checkbox and then realize you need to change the amount (for example, if you need to enter two types of payments), you can clear the checkbox. The application-created payment will remain, but you can then change the amount and, if needed, add another payment.
  5. Optional: If you need a duplicate copy of the invoice or an invoice with similar terms, click the Copy button to create a copy of the information as an additional invoice, and then change the information, such as customer, date or due date, service, or sales tax rate, if necessary.

    You will see the duplicate invoice in the Sales screen.

  6. Click Save & Send to send the updated invoice to your customer, or click Save & Close to close the screen.
  1. Tap Sales > the invoice you want to change > Edit.
  2. Change the information.
  3. Optional: Tap Send Invoice on Save if you want to send the invoice once you have saved the information.
  4. Optional: Tap Preview Invoice if you want to look at the invoice before you send it.
  5. Tap Save.
  1. Tap Sales > the invoice you want to change >
  2. Change the information.
  3. Optional: Tap Preview if you want to look at the invoice before you send it.
  4. Tap

The availability of some or all of these features depends on your OnBalance bundle.


Was this helpful?